Home > Uncategorized > Breakfast, Almond Butter, Chocolate and Recipes

Breakfast, Almond Butter, Chocolate and Recipes

Good Morning One and All!

Its rare for me to do a post in the morning, but I realised I have more than enough material for one and if I left all the ideas and photos in my head or lying around my Picture file, when I actually did go to write a post, my head would be all conflustered and I wouldnt know where to start. I dont know about you, but I get very anxious when things are half done or “in the process”. I like to just DO things and get them DONE. Less stress. More success.

I am still in my grandparents house. I love being here, I have been coming here since I was, well, born?? but it hasnt changed-and I love that.

I am always the first one up in my house and in this house. I always have been an early riser. It annoys some folk, but Im ok with it! I get to take advantage of a full 15 hour day! (I usually KO by 11pm).

This morning I woke up cold and hungry. After a short yoga sesh, a shower and some clothes, breakfast happened. One of the things that hasnt changed in my Gparents home is my Gma’s habit of setting the breakfast table the night before. 

I have and will always love this.

I also love THIS

“MONKI” Sunflower Seed butter: Its thick, its strong, but if I crave it. I need it.

“Flahavan’s” Oats with a hunk’a “MONKI” butter,peach sauce,cinnamon+honey

I also had a slice of GF Toast with butter and a cup of Barry’s Tea. ( *Note: #1 some people need their coffee every morning-I need my tea and I need Barry’s Tea. )

Seeing as its only 10am here, Ill rewind back a little. Yesterday I restocked on another “MONKI” essential.

 

I ❤ Almond Butter. However, seeing as I am the kind of girl who likes less stress and more success. I usually opt to do the necessary stirrage of the nutbutter upon my purchase of it rather than waiting until the first time I need to use it. ( The scenario of having my oats piping on the stove whilst I am frantically working up a sweat trying to stir a newly opened nutbutter first thing in morning sounds like lots of stress and no success to me!). Unfortunately, I hate stirring them-like, I hate it.

 The only pay off is knowing that I am doing my taste buds a favour (ha I just wrote “flavour” instead of favour) by stirring it to prevent gloopy dry end of the jar almond butter (I suppose licking the spoon after is a pay off too).

Despite the price of this jar-expect it to be gone within a week, maybe ten days. Its lethal stuff!

 

From Almond Butter to Chocolate. There is a chain store of chocolatey goodness called “Thorntons” in the UK and Ireland (could spread further Im not sure). But they are fabuliscious. Im pretty sure its mandatory for each household to have at least one box of Thorntons Chocolates at Christmas time.

 

Yesterday afternoon, I wanted chocolate. But when trying to decide which one to have, my mind was boggled! The descriptions of chocolatesare no longer “Strawberry Fondant:contains Dairy” or “Chocolate Caramel:may contain nuts”. Oh no! The Thorntons description page looks like you would need a degree in Creative Writing to do!

 

I went for a Chocolate Caramel and a Hazelnut Nougat-I hate going to for the plain ones, I always like to try something different.

Last nights dinner was yet again more Christmas turkey (fresh!), taters etc…………………….. Im thinking tonight I might cook for the family. Any suggestions?

I came across THIS book in my Grandmas house.

Its such a handy dandy little book! With recipes from Oat Scones to Veggie Oat Pie, Apple and Cinnamon Oat Crumble and Oat and Honey bread-I will definitely be making some recipes in here.

 

 

Hope youre all enjoying your day wherever you are.

Any suggestions on what to cook for two people who are used to just the meat, veg and potatoes?

Do you like stirring Nutbutters as much as I do?? 🙂

Laters.

Fi

xxx

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 3, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    i used to never stir them because i liked getting hard chunks! aaha but recently I’ve been a stirrer- creamy= better!

  2. January 3, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    I’ve never tried sunflower seed butter before. After all the hype it receives from the blog world, I think I will give it a try 😉 That’s just what I need… another nut butter jar to add to the collection, haha…

  3. crazylittlethingneela
    January 3, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    aww I love my almond butter! nothing best that crack 😉
    I once tried sunflower seed butter but I think it was off. It tasted really moldy. yuck!
    hope you’re having a good day my friend

  4. Sarah
    January 3, 2011 at 10:08 pm

    Oh my goodness…I DREAD stirring nut butters! Especially almond butter…it’s so thick!! haha. You’re smart to do the stirring right after you buy the jar. Sometimes I even put off opening the jar because I don’t want to have to stir…lol.

    That is adorable that your Grandma sets the table for breakfast every night! Don’t you love that type of stuff? Things like that always make me feel at home and lower my anxiety. Grandparents are the best : ).

    I’m so glad to see you’re treating yourself to chocolates and eating with your family Fi. You are so strong and you’re doing exactly what you know is right…no matter what ed says! I’m so proud of you : )

    xxx

  5. January 4, 2011 at 1:44 am

    So much yummy food! Reminds me how much I miss sunflower seed butter. I have to say I love stirring nut butters too. I don’t think it’s too difficult if you store it upside first and then stir.

    How sweet that your grandparents set the table for breakfast before going to bed. That would make my morning.

  6. izzy
    January 4, 2011 at 1:54 am

    FII! I’m so excited to follow you in the new chapter in your life! Mmm I havent had sunbutter in aaages and im running low on nut butter (AH!), so i MAY just have to go buy some!! 😉 All your eats look deeeeeeeelightful! And I wanna see loads of recipes from that oat book! (…that I can later steal ;P)

    My European parents raised me on the standard meat + veg + potatoes, so I know where the stress of cooking for people who are used to just that comes from. Why not try a subtle (but delicious) transition? Like, lets say, tofu + baked veggies + sweet potatoes?? Sounds yummy to mee ; D

    izzyy
    xoxoxo

  7. Jem
    January 4, 2011 at 11:59 am

    Aah I’ve only ever tried the Meridian Almond Butter – taking a trip to WFs in Kensington today so may have a looksie and see what I can find 😀 xx

  8. January 5, 2011 at 1:05 am

    haha i just stirred my almond butter this morning— hated it!
    But tastes so good 🙂
    Thats so cute how they set up the table the night before.

  9. January 6, 2011 at 3:26 am

    who doesn’t like nut butters?!?!?!?! Of course I do! I feel sorry for people who don’t know the joys of a delicious almond butter…..

    Glad you had a great time with your grandparents! Sounds like fun 🙂 And the chocolate looks DELISH!

    Scott

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

